Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
04-14-2012, 10:33 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Cross Process vs. Custom Image Settings

Hi all,

I'm a newbie K-5 and don't really understand the different between Cross Process and Custom Image Settings.
- If don't have Cross Process feature, can we do it by using Custom Image?
- K-5 allows to save up to 3 favorite cross process modes, but I don't know how to create a custom cross processed photo?

Thanks in advance for any reply.

04-14-2012, 10:59 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Cross process is generally useless, whereas custom image settings are what define how your JPEG looks (i.e. sharpness, saturation, contrast, etc.). Think of it settings used for in-camera RAW development

Hope that helps!

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
04-14-2012, 03:51 PM   #3
Veteran Member

You create a favorite cross process like this:
1. Select random cross process and shoot some pictures with it. They will all come out different.
2. Go into the menu and select the save favorite item.
3. The camera will present all your cross process shots for you to choose between.

Adam called the cross process feature "generally useless". It's useless for deliberate, serious work,
as in artistic or professional work. It can still be great fun though. If you practice and get to know
both the presets and your favourite cross process modes, you can actually produce keepers with it
and create striking, slightly unpredictable moods. It's a bit like a painter throwing paint at the canvas