Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-28-2012, 10:45 AM   #1

Help! Old Film guy-new K-5-headed to Alaska

Recently received a new K-5 w/ kit lens 18-55 and 55-300 ED and 43mm 1.9. I am familar with basic photography. My background is in older 35mm and medium format film. mainly black and white work, darkroom etc.

I don't beieve I am going to be able to encompass all of the features of the K-5 prior to a trip to Alaska I have planned. I am currently playing with the camera in manual mode and changing ap,shuuter and film speed as I need to with pretty good success.

I need suggestions. My thought were to buy several small capacity memory cards and shoot everything in RAW + JPEG. In that way once I return I can manipulate the photos once I become more familar with these new toys.

Are there any default settings I should change? In reading through this forum it looks as though I should remove any PP stuff and simply use this later since I'll shoot in Raw?

Will also be purchasing a new PC when I return. From a photographers viewpoint suggetions would be appreciated on MAC vs PC and software to be used to process the RAW photos.

06-28-2012, 11:24 AM   #2
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by SMC Quote
I need suggestions. My thought were to buy several small capacity memory cards and shoot everything in RAW + JPEG. In that way once I return I can manipulate the photos once I become more familar with these new toys.
I have always advocated multiple small(ish) capacity cards instead of higher capacity. Should Murphy's Law be invoked, you'll loose fewer pictures. Unless you plan on transferring the photos for viewing on some other device while you're away, I don't see much purpose for the jpegs, but if storage space isn't an issue there's no harm.
From a photographers viewpoint suggetions would be appreciated on MAC vs PC and software to be used to process the RAW photos.