Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-24-2012, 10:56 PM   #1

Newbie need advice

Honestly, I don't know where should I put this thread, on the flashlight discussion or in pentax K-5 discussion. Since I'm K-5 user and I'm looking for K-5 users also, I put this thread below Pentax K-5 sub forum.

Recently, I want to buy a flash for my K-5. Is there any suggestion for me? I'm just a noob in flash photography.

I don't mind if it is a full manual flash like Yongnuo. But when I'm browsing this forum, I found that YN560 has a bad compatibility with K-5. Even that problems has been solved, I don't have an electrical knowledge to follow the instructions.

I'm also heard that using other brand can also work but it turn to full manual flash. Is there anyone has that kind of experience?

Thank you.

07-24-2012, 11:16 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Hi hamrio (and welcome, if no-one's said that before)

I can highly recommend the Metz lineup. I have the Metz 48AF-1, which is now superseded by the 50AF-1, both of which are fairly popular with Pentax shooters. The advantage of the 48 and 50 Metz guns over the Pentax equivalent (the AF360), is that they have tilt and swivel heads, whereas the Pentax model only has tilt - you have to move up to the AF540, which is more expensive, for tilt and swivel.

Rob
07-24-2012, 11:44 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by RobA_Oz Quote
The advantage of the 48 and 50 Metz guns over the Pentax equivalent (the AF360), is that they have tilt and swivel heads, whereas the Pentax model only has tilt - you have to move up to the AF540, which is more expensive, for tilt and swivel.