Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-30-2012, 09:50 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Wireless flash question

Hi there,

I got a K5 and just purchased a Metz 44AF flash, I purchase this flash due to the lower price and the accurate exposure control of Metz I learn from experience, lacking a LCD display I thought there is nothing special to play with, but to my surprise the flash has build in wireless slave function. I can use my K5 to trigger the Metz with TTL, the overall exposure is little over but still usable, the flash doesn't look like using light sensor trigger but wireless, as the camera has to enable wireless flash in order to use this feature, and the flash manual said the slave function is compatible with most model DC, I am new to this and wonder how it works, can I use multiple flash setup ? I am not going to use multi flash, just wonder how the flash 'handshake' with the camera, I have some electronics background and struggling to learn about how things work !

08-04-2012, 05:44 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think the camera flash communicates the exposure info by sending out a particular pattern of flashes that the unit on the other end can decode. The intensity of the light is so high that the external flash doesn't need any fancy sensors to be able to clearly decode the signal.
08-04-2012, 07:19 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Original Poster
I think the same, I just don't know this has become mainstream and supported by most camera.
08-04-2012, 08:01 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The 'wireless', read 'optical' flash communication does only work between the same manufacturer's systems.

The Pentax one is fairly primitive I find, you can have multiple remote flashes but all these only really work with P-TTL mode, you can't adjust individual power remotely.