Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-03-2012, 01:18 AM - 1 Like   #1

K-5 worth the change?

Hello all Im new to the pentax world. I recently got the chance to hold the K-5 and it was amazing. I currently have the D7000 and I cant describe how much better the 2 min experience with the K-5 was. Just felt better in the hands not like a brick with a smaller brick put on front for grip. My question is if I sell my nikon gear because Im sick of the hardcore fanboyism coming from nikonians. I know there are pentax fanboys but point being I want to change, I like underdogs, I like the sharpy sharp images pentax lenses spit out. I believe the camera is the smallest part of making great pictures and my only super requirement is good weather sealing which pentax seems to boast.

I am getting into photojournalism so first question. Is the pentax line going to live? second question would be should I buy the k-5 or wait to see what pentax anounces at photokina. And third I would like to shoot with primes, so what in the spec of, if pentax ever comes out with full frame fire breathing weather sealed picture slaying sexual man beast (dunno where that came from) which primes should I get/ what ones are sharp and fast, bokeh?

Thank you and i hope you dont hunt me down regarding a post in the wrong forum or something.

08-03-2012, 02:49 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Simple answer: if it makes you happy, do it

Good to see another person who admires the superior ergonomics of the k-5!
1. The pentax line will live, especially since they're now under the management of Ricoh. Their recent actions may have seemed a tad odd, but you can start to see a long-run effort by them to build up the pentax brand.
2. The choice to wait is yours. If you want the k-5 now, go for it. If you can afford to wait, go ahead and wait. Either way, you're going to be getting an amazing camera.