Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-19-2012, 09:40 PM   #1

New K5 with 18-135WR lens. Pictures are as sharp as a bowling ball. Help?

I just purchased a K5 after looking at it since it debuted. I did a huge amount of research and came to the conclusion that the K5 would be the best camera for me.

I have had it now for a couple weeks and have taken about a thousand pictures, and so far I am less than impressed.

I didn't want to jump to any conclusions until I had really had a chance to play with it, and make sure I wasn't doing anything wrong.
But I noticed pretty quickly that all the photos seemed slightly out of focus. Cropping it down at all would show the softness everywhere.

After shooting a wedding (not as the official photographer), a trip to the beach, along with a number of nature walks, I feel like I have given it a fair shake under many different situations and they all fall short of my expectations.

I started playing with the AF fine adjustment tonight, and just looking for any adjustment I could make the help or fix the issue and I can't seem to find anything that will sharpen up the pictures.

Here are a couple of my BEST test pictures. I was trying all the different focus calibration sheets.
I got sharper pictures from my old Canon Powershot.

So any recommendations? I am not sure if the problem is with the camera or the lens or both, but I don't have another lens or camera to try.

1:1 crops

135mm f5.6

36mm f5.6

08-19-2012, 10:27 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Sorry to read you are having problems. However That chart is not to test sharpness, it is to test AF calibration, don't confuse these 2 things. Also the chart needs to be square with your camera not at an angle.
08-19-2012, 10:50 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Well, the vertical lines should be vertical, but the chart is supposed to be at a 45 angle. That's the point -- to have text both in front of and behind the focal plane.
08-19-2012, 11:20 PM   #4