Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-30-2012, 03:11 PM   #1

Total Pentax newbie!!

Hi everyone
I'm new to this forum and have been reading a few threads to familiarize myself with the Pentax K5 camera and lenses as I'm thinking about buying this camera. I'm fairly new to photography and have been pursuing this hobby for almost a year now.
I currently own just one camera (and sometimes thats enough i guess!) which is a fixed 35mm lens and i'm now thinking of expanding into a system with more lenses.
The K5 really appeals to me because of IQ and size and ergonomics. I guess also because my dad many many years ago had a pentax film camera and remember that!
So my question is... which lenses go with the K5 that have Auto focus and are equivalent to the 50mm pov? I also love to take candid portraits off the street and would like to add a portrait lens also in the future..
Which lenses do you recommend that are easy to focus (auto) and are fast so i can use them in low light.

Any help\advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

08-30-2012, 03:30 PM   #2

Photos: Albums
Welcome to the board!

Because the K5 has such a wide range of ISO, I would concentrate my lens choices more towards sharpness than speed. While all Pentax K mount lenses will work with the K5, only those with the "A" designation on them are automatic. So if you don't wish to shoot manual, look at "A", "F" "FA" and any "D" lenses.

Asking what lens is best is a lot like asking what car is best - everyone will have different opinions, and many will work very well. One lens to consider is the Pentax 50mm macro lens, notably the A version, which can be purchased quite reasonably used. At F2.8, it isn't that slow, and would work well for street photography with the added benefit of macro capabilities should you ever desire them. You can read the reviews on it here:

Pentax A 50mm Macro