Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
09-01-2012, 08:19 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Not impressed k5 pics not sharp

I just purchased the k5 with the 18-135 wr lens and for some reason most of the pics I've shot just dont seem sharp to me. I'm not very experienced but I'm no dummy either and have enough knowledge to know something just isnt right. I had a Kr and a D7000 in the past and when I compaired all three the k5 was a far distant third and the pics out of the Kr and d7000 with the 18-55 and 18-105 standard lenses just look so much better and I've shot around 500 times on the k5 trying to figure out why and am getting very frustrated at this point. I've messed with the focus adjustment as well without results and now I'm starting to wonder if its the lens itself and am very disappointed. I've decided I'm going to go pick up a used lens today, slap it on and see what happens b/c so far this is just unacceptable. Even a simple pic of my car in the driveway doesnt look very good compared to the d7000 shots with the same exact settings...the d7000 pics stomp it and are far far better just in overall sharpness.

Is there anyone out there with the 18-135 wr lens that have had trouble like this? Just curious

09-01-2012, 08:28 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Do you have any other lenses to try? My guess is that it is a lens issue and not a camera issue. Maybe post some photos as well at a variety of focal lengths and get a little input from the "forum crowd."

I have a K5, but not a 18-135. However, from what I have seen it should be decently sharp, at a minimum between 18 and 70mm.
09-01-2012, 08:38 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It would help if you posted some pics, like Rondec suggested. We can take a look at the EXIF and see if there's something you could be doing wrong.