Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-06-2012, 05:10 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Please solve my Focus issues

I've been dealing with focus issues since I've been with Pentax. K-10, K-x and now the K5.....at first I was a complete newbie so I was chalking it up to pilot error. 5 years later I feel pretty confident in my abilities but I'm really disappointed with the % of keepers I get or even more frustrated with the amount of pictures I have to toss because of focus issues. Before I sell everything and jump ship can you give me some pointers on what steps I need to take to make sure the equipment is working properly.

Here is a shot I took last night SOOC. I had the camera set to AF select and had the dot right on my sons eye. f3.2 with the fa43. It missed it by a mile. Not just that shot, but 90% of them that I took. I shouldn't have to be shooting at f/11 to get this shot. This is pretty straight forward.

Should I upgrade the firmware?
Is there a "lens adjustment" setting that compensates for this? If so please explain what it does and how it works in detail. I am unfamiliar.

I want to believe there is a good camera in there somewhere, but after looking at my friends photos who are with Canikon and who know NOTHING about photography....for them to be getting so many keepers is an insult to me.

Thanks for the help

Kevin

09-06-2012, 05:28 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Kevin,
Focus looks to be on the rim of the bowl, basket whatever. Which is what I would expect if the camera was in auto 11 point. It is the highest point of contrast and no surprise it would lock onto that.