Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
09-10-2012, 04:48 PM   #31
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Original Poster
If the dot means nothing...what should I be using to focus? If I'm at 3.2 and everything is on an equal plane I'd expect at least the head to be in focus especially if I'm placing the dot on the head. I'm referring to my OP.

The question now becomes...."How do I tell the camera to focus on that spot" ? On my neighbors 1DX...of which I have zero experience using, I can nail a microscopic flower-head out of a garden every time. The camera is spot on. With the k5 sometimes I get it....sometimes I can't hit the side of a barn.

09-10-2012, 05:05 PM   #32
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Deiberson Quote
On my neighbors 1DX...of which I have zero experience using, I can nail a microscopic flower-head out of a garden every time. The camera is spot on. With the k5 sometimes I get it....sometimes I can't hit the side of a barn.
Are you kidding?

The EOS 1DX is:
(a) a top of the line, brand-new, expensive pro DSLR, and
(b) has 61 AF points, compared to the K-5's 11.

Naturally, you will get more granular AF control with a 1DX.

How do I tell the camera to focus on that spot
You indicate to the camera that you want it to work on a specific area, not a laser-dot.

Test it out. Learn the sensitivity area boundaries of the AF points. Practice.
09-10-2012, 07:21 PM   #33
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If the dot means nothing...what should I be using to focus? If I'm at 3.2 and everything is on an equal plane I'd expect at least the head to be in focus especially if I'm placing the dot on the head. I'm referring to my OP.