Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
09-11-2012, 03:56 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Tips on a jewelry photoshoot?

A friend's jewelry is being featured in a local mag and she's asked me to shoot it.. I've got a Pentax K5 with a new (used) Tarmon SP 90mm macro (1:2.5) and some extension tubes and a 2x teleconverter (7 elements) which I think some combo of would be nice for it...

Advice on how to do this? Where do do it? Lighting?

I'm a rookie enthusiast...

Thanks!

Ken

09-11-2012, 04:35 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Javaslinger Quote
A friend's jewelry is being featured in a local mag and she's asked me to shoot it.. I've got a Pentax K5 with a new (used) Tarmon SP 90mm macro (1:2.5) and some extension tubes and a 2x teleconverter (7 elements) which I think some combo of would be nice for it...

Advice on how to do this? Where do do it? Lighting?

I'm a rookie enthusiast...

Thanks!

Ken
This is always a bit of fun..

Personally I prefer to shoot things like jewelry on white or black backgrounds to give added contrast to the object I just used an A3-A2 sheet of paper and curve it up behind to create that infinity wall look. Camera settings; I tend to use either my Tamron SP AF 90mm F2.8 Di or my Sigma EX 105mm F2.8 Macro @ 1/125 ISO 100 and F5.6-11 depending on needed depth of field. I use 1/125 instead of 1/180 due to my wireless triggers (2X Yongnuo RF602's) having a bit of lag in them and catch the shutter closing at shutter speeds above that. As for lighting I use 2 off camera strobes (Yongnuo 560 + Metz 58AF-2) with diffusers to get a more even light, ie at a 45 degree angle either side of the camera.

Here is the type of results you can achieve with that sort of set up:

Edit: most of the lighting stuff I got off ebay: