Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-27-2012, 02:08 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
anniversary party in and out K5

I have never done this before. I have never used automatic settings. Should I shoot in AV mode with auto ISO with my 16-50 Pentax DA, or use automatic?? Very nervous. This is family. Candids are not my forte.
Thanks for any help.
Sharon

09-27-2012, 02:27 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

How soon is the party? If you have a few days, you should set up your camera like you might be using it and practice a bit.

I'm assuming from what you said that you always shoot on M mode. One might ask why change? Many of us can give you suggestions on what we might do but it really depends on you and what your comfort zone is. This sounds like it's indoors and that can be tricky. Are you using flash? Do you expect fast action, low light, ??? Need to know a bit more about the setting to help.

OTOH, you might consider using Tav mode which will let you vary the f-stop and shutter speed while adjusting the ISO accordingly. You need to be sure that the ISO range doesn't get too big like more than say 100-1600 in case of noise. I will say that my preference when doing that kind of thing is Av mode as it's my normal setting, if I use flash, I'll switch to Tv mode. I'll make sure that when I'm in flash mode the WB is set to flash, and I'm likely to have the the WB set to auto if operating in varied light (natural and electrical).

$0.02 USD
09-27-2012, 02:54 PM   #3
Pentaxian

I'd also recommend you try out the TAV mode ahead of time - It's like M with auto ISO (and therefore Auto Exposure).