Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-30-2012, 02:26 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Prime lens question

I am a bit of a novice, but I'm learning. I have a K5 and I am getting on pretty well with it. I love shooting with prime lenses when it is convenient. To date I have acquired a 70mm 2.4, a 15mm 1.4 and the 35mm 2.8 macro. I am curious about the 31mm 1.8 FA lens. It is a bit pricey, but if it's as good as I read, then I can swing it. I have two questions: Would it be redundant since I already have the 35mm 2.8, or would it be a nice addition? If it worked more like a 50mm since it will be on my crop sensor camera then I would like that. Also, will it respond to the thumb wheel on my K5 or will I have to use the aperture ring on the lens. Will the camera be able to read what the setting is and include that information in my metadata? A third question that comes to mind is would it work on my old K1000? Thanks in advance.

09-30-2012, 03:00 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Scootskipper Quote
If it worked more like a 50mm since it will be on my crop sensor camera then I would like that.
Focal length is focal length, crop sensor has nothing to do with that. So, your 35mm will have very close to the same look as the 31mm as far as angle of view is concerned.

Also, will it respond to the thumb wheel on my K5 or will I have to use the aperture ring on the lens. Will the camera be able to read what the setting is and include that information in my metadata?
Yes, all F, FA, DFA and DA lenses operate with modern cameras in the same manner.

A third question that comes to mind is would it work on my old K1000?
Yes, within the limits of the camera. So auto-focus will not work. And the thumb-wheel will not either (cause there isn't one) You would have to use it in all manual.