Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
10-22-2012, 06:48 PM   #1

Just got my k5 and I need help

Hello I'm new to dslr s and I was wondering why my new k5 won't take as sharp as pictures as my canon g12 p&s. do I need to fine tune the focus to the kit lens? (18-55 wr). I know the lense is a low end lense, but I would assume it would be sharper then a fixed lense p&s. I'm thinking I should maybe exchange the camera for more of a novice model like maybe the k30? I love the body on the k5 though they put all the buttons in the right place! I've tried some old m42 lenses on it too with the same results I'm sure this is a user error issue. For comparison I shot the same image with both cameras at the same iso, same focal length, same aperture. (Only difference was shutter speed to achieve same exposure with smaller sensor on the canon.). The difference between the 2 isn't even close!! canon is much clearer and it was at a high iso of 3200! What am I doing wrong please help I'd like to not have to exchange it on the Internet. Thanks.

10-22-2012, 06:58 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Posting the test shots with EXIF intact will help us guide you, otherwise we'd just be guessing.
10-22-2012, 07:10 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you're not careful and the camera wants to shoot at a slow shutter speed, you may end up with blurry photos that look worse than those from a P&S. The same goes for large aperture values (resulting in shallow DOF and poor IQ from the lens). I would say that out-of-the-box, the K-30 is more beginner-friendly, but that doesn't mean that the task is hard with the K-5, either. Posting the photos with EXIF intact should help us find the problem!

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)