Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
10-30-2012, 03:45 AM - 1 Like   #46
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
Which shots are we talking about now? The test charts or others?
The outdoor shots. They seem too soft. I'll say that I'm not experienced with pixel-peeping at K-5 images (my K100D images look obviously crisper out of the box), but I'd be just a little surprised if that kind of softness were normal.

As far as my understanding goes, there is no way for sharpening algorithms to know deterministically know what transformation, if you want to look at it that way, caused the blur. Thus, the sharpening can't perfectly undo it, even if it can do a good job.
In general, you are right, but in the case of capture-sharpening a RAW file, the sharpener knows how the blur came about and can apply a deconvolution to exactly undo the blur. Different RAW converters will do different things, but in theory a complete reconstruction is possible.

Remember, anything that cannot be reconstructed from the blur is detail the sensor should not record anyhow, because it exceeds its resolution power.

Here's a link to a raw file from the K-5:
Thanks. I played with it a little. See below a quick n' dirty attempt to sharpen the original K-5 file so that it competes with the K-5 IIs file.

The order of the images is:
  1. K-5 as sharpened by you.
  2. K-5 as sharpened with LR.
  3. K-5 IIs (called "RAW" but apparently already sharpened).

Name:  K-5 sharpening comparison.png
Views: 3172
Size:  582.0 KB

Note that what you labelled as "K-5 IIs RAW" (in your "best attempt") shows faint sharpening halos around the tree tops. Maybe your RAW converter has some default-sharpening which isn't exactly zero. Maybe they are JPG conversion artefacts (or the result of "sharpening for screen").