Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Closed Thread
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-09-2013, 06:46 AM   #91
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by userage Quote
But yeah hopefully by the time I need video (1 year?) Pentax will have a good offering. Also, what happened to Vitaly(?) the guy who hacked the GH2, isn't he a Pentax fan? Could he hack it?
1 year is quite long given the few advancements they need to up coming from the K-01 and K-30... I am confident they'll have a good one by that time.

as for the hack, yeah I wish he could do something about Pentax firmware too. I'm not a programmer (and know nothing about editing firmware) so I've no idea if there is anything in the GH2's codes that are similar to Pentax's... imagine the possibilities, not just for video. Maybe even focus peaking

01-09-2013, 06:48 AM   #92

QuoteOriginally posted by Alizarine Quote
1 year is quite long given the few advancements they need to up coming from the K-01 and K-30... I am confident they'll have a good one by that time.

as for the hack, yeah I wish he could do something about Pentax firmware too. I'm not a programmer (and know nothing about editing firmware) so I've no idea if there is anything in the GH2's codes that are similar to Pentax's... imagine the possibilities, not just for video. Maybe even focus peaking
Only problem with the K-01/30 was they went to a worse codec, if they kept the MJPEG (which has huge file sizes, but great quality) it would have been awesome. They should have a choice between them
01-09-2013, 07:23 AM - 1 Like   #93
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Urm sorry? Wheres your evidence for this? I think your sounding like the nutjob. DSLRs are not going to replace cinema cameras, but they can easily replace cameras for low budget shooters.

Also yeah your right, DSLRs are terrible ergonomically, how on earth will we survive with them on a tripod. And what expensive add-ons are you talking about?