Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-25-2012, 08:38 AM   #1

K5 ii or oly em5/omd?

Hey everyone, I'm a newbie here, and am here seeking your wisdom/advice. I was set to pull the trigger on an oly omd, but kept reading about the k5 ii, and how it is the best value in a dslr. Now I'm re-thinking my decision to go with the omd, it appears the only thing I'm gaining with the oly, is a smaller size and possibly better/faster af? Although, from what I can gather on the net, the mark II has greatly improved low light af.

With the kit lens, they are identical in price, which really plays in favor of the pentax. So, I guess it all comes down to lens selection/cost, and other things such as build quality, and pentax after sale support, should I ever need it.

Something I really like about the k5 is the ability to shoot in dng, which makes post processing a bit easier as my old copy of photoshop doesn't recognize many of the new cameras and it's been a nightmare to update it.

I sure would appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance.

Steve

11-25-2012, 08:56 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by desmoface Quote
Hey everyone, I'm a newbie here, and am here seeking your wisdom/advice. I was set to pull the trigger on an oly omd, but kept reading about the k5 ii, and how it is the best value in a dslr. Now I'm re-thinking my decision to go with the omd, it appears the only thing I'm gaining with the oly, is a smaller size and possibly better/faster af? Although, from what I can gather on the net, the mark II has greatly improved low light af.

With the kit lens, they are identical in price, which really plays in favor of the pentax. So, I guess it all comes down to lens selection/cost, and other things such as build quality, and pentax after sale support, should I ever need it.