Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-02-2012, 02:02 PM   #16

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
Very nice pictures in this thread.

I started out taking concert pictures with point and shoot cameras on auto, and feel like I've gotten good results.

I haven't haven't had a chance to take many pictures with a DSLR, but when I started shooting at auto, and then shutter speed, and now I've been playing around with full manual. I have been liking the results.

12-03-2012, 06:07 AM   #17

Meeeeee

Hiya,

I use the K5 exclusively for my gig photography, mostly with the Sigma EX DG 24-70 2.8 but occasionally with the old Pentax AF 100 F2.8 or AF 50 F1.4. Always fully manual indoors.

Some recent examples on my site...

Europe Live at the Leeds o2 Academy | Gig Reviews | CackBlabbath

Fields of the Nephilim live at Shepherds Bush Empire | Gig Reviews | CackBlabbath

And there are a load over at the CackBlabbath facebook page too (without trying to make this sound like an advert

The images straight out of it are a little soft, disappointingly so, even compared to "budget" competition like the Nikon D3100. I know a bit of sharpening solves that, but it's still not the best.

Autofocus works well enough in low light though and it's a great "first" DSLR to take into the pit...

Well, it'll do until I can afford a Nikon D700 :-)

Iain
12-03-2012, 06:39 AM   #18
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by DizzyDalek Quote
The images straight out of it are a little soft, disappointingly so, even compared to "budget" competition like the Nikon D3100.
Hmmmmmmmmmm. Don't blame the hardware for that, but your technique, perhaps.

In your linked shots I see lots of missed focus due to your use of manual focus and narrow apertures, plus lots of simple motion blur in your shots - not surprising, when using 1/60 or 1/125 second for dynamic live performances, whilst standing in a mosh pit full of people bumping you around.