Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-14-2012, 12:02 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K5IIs No Moire, but false color?

I recently went out shooting holiday lights with my K5IIs. In the photos below you can see the brown tree trunks all look bright bluish purple. This showed up on the lcd screen right away. I took several shots because I've never had this happen before. I'v also had some less dramatic, but strange results with color with this camera. I do love that it's crazy sharp, but color is important to me & I'm now wondering if this is a lack of AA filter problem if B&H will exchange for a K5II.
I'm by no means a technical expert & I did read the one thread I found about false color just last night (a little too late). I think if I had known this in advance I would have gone for the K5II. Any thought or opinions you have about what caused this I if you believe there is something I could have done to prevent it would be appreciated. Would a K5II do this as well or do I need to see if it's possible to exchange?

More photos can be seen here Flickr: Lotus21's Photostream

Attached Images

12-14-2012, 12:11 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I once had similar "false color" that resembled that when shooting in a dark roller-rink with disco lights - and that was my K-5. So I'm not sure your "s" is to blame.
12-14-2012, 12:15 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Might be a reflection of some sort- was there a black light around anywhere? A nano-coated lens might be the solution here.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

12-14-2012, 12:22 PM   #4
Veteran Member