Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-04-2013, 09:03 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Live View issues

Hello, I am new to the K5 and seldom use the live view other then to check focus, exposure. But I wanted to test the camera out and I noticed it is very loud when in this mode also an hour glass now appears between shots regardless if I am in live mode or not. Is this common?

Thank you for any advice if this is something I should be concerned with.

02-04-2013, 10:09 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Are you shooting RAW or jpeg? And if jpeg what processing options are turned on? Highlight / shadow correction? Lens correction? Composition adjust? Digital filters?

Also check to see you are not using HDR or multi-exposure, though that should be noticeable.
02-04-2013, 11:11 AM   #3

Original Poster
I am shooting in JPEG, no filters. charged battery and empty card which I thought might be the issue for the hour glass to show up. I do have distortion correction on. That's it. There is just a delay between shots for preview that didn't occur before..and in live view a lot of mechanical noise is the best way I can describe it. But I have been shooting with it for the past month and I don't see any other issues with the camera. I just didn't know if this was something that was a sign of an arising problem?
02-04-2013, 12:43 PM   #4
Site Supporter

I have seen people complain about the hourglass several times and in the cases where they reported back it was because they had some processing going on in the background. Highlights/shadows seems to be the one I remember being mentioned most.

You might also format the SD card to see if that helps, and make sure you the card is fast enough. I use all class 10 cards but I think class 6 is also fast enough on name brands. Try formatting the card in the camera, and check to see if you have highlights/shadows on.

02-04-2013, 12:46 PM   #5
Site Supporter