Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2013, 08:20 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Shoot the monks.

Well the title is maybe a bit macabre. On this island of mine there is a monastery, where two monks live. I have permission to take some photos of them. It is in the middle of a forest and one of them is a bookbinder.

For the task I will bring my K5 and my contax 28/2,8 50/1,4 and 85/2,8. I really want to keep it very simple, like the reporter with his Leica M. Also because I am not that technical. But I am in need of some tips.

The converted contax lenses can be used in M and Av, sometimes I even use them in Av-mode with ISO auto.

-Recommended settings for portrait.
-Is it a good idea to use bracketing +/- 0,7 EV maybe.
-And all the tips you can think of.

Thank you

Last edited by Pontax; 04-17-2013 at 08:21 AM. Reason: misspelling
04-17-2013, 08:49 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Try TvAv mode if you want iso on auto
85mm maybe little bit to much IMHO
04-17-2013, 08:54 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Will they be posing for you? Or are you shooting them while they do their daily activities?
How much time do you have at the location? How many locations are you shooting?
Have you been to the locations yet? Do you have images of the location to share?
04-17-2013, 09:06 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Sounds like you will be working in poor light. Perhaps bring a small light monopod. Less clumsy, formal and imposing for portraits than using a tripod, but it may help you get sharper pictures without having to run higher ISO's. Also bring a flash with a diffuser and/or one that can do bounce for some extra (and soft) lighting when you need it?

Edit: also shoot RAW to give you the most post-processing leeway in terms of white balance, exposure and noise reduction when you need it to deal with complicated lighting, or RAW + JPEG.

Last edited by rawr; 04-17-2013 at 09:40 AM.
04-17-2013, 09:31 AM   #5