Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
04-20-2013, 10:51 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Do I take one for the forum?

I have been using SLR's for over 40 years and got my first DSLR, a K5, in March of 2012. For me a big learning curve from film (which is still better than digital) but I got through it. In two months #4 son and myself are taking a drive from western NY to Las Vegas to visit #3 son, doughter in law and grandkids. After that heading up to Yellowstone before hitting some sights on the way home. Heading through the San Rafael Swell area of Utah on the way out.

Now my dilemma. I have a craving for a K-5 IIs for outdoor and nature photograhy. But it may be that the much rumored full frame DSLR from Pentax in coming out soon. If it is and has no anti aliasing screen I would want that one instead. So do I wait for the possible full frame version or pull the trigger on the K-5 IIs? I already know that, with the luck I have had throughout my life, as soon as I get the K-5 IIs Pentax will announce the full frame version of their DSLR and the K-5 IIs will then drop $300 in price.

I would like to get the camera soon as I want to put it through it's paces before taking it on a long road trip. I would never take this trip without two DSLR's. In the world I operate in two is one and one is none. So do I take one for the team and get the K-5 IIs?

04-20-2013, 10:57 AM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by gaweidert Quote
I already know that, with the luck I have had throughout my life...
Get the camera, but stay away from the tables once you get to Vegas...
04-20-2013, 10:58 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

There won't be a full frame until next fall at the earliest...

The most credible rumors are for a 24MP APS-C.
04-20-2013, 11:05 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums