Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 7 Likes Search this Thread
05-08-2013, 06:10 PM - 2 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K-5IIs - OMG

I've been shooting with my K-5 for 18 months, and before that it was the K-r and before that the K-x. Other than AF with sports I've been pretty happy with the K-5. Great battery life, good colors, responsive, intuitive interface, ergonomics that beat every other equivalent camera from other brands I have touched hands down, plenty fast, etc. Sharpness and micro adjustments to lenses have been an issue for me, particularly because I just do not like sitting in front of lightroom fiddling with sharpness, radius, detail, masking, etc. ad nauseum. Excuse me if I think it ought to be sharp out of the camera.

So, I waited for the K-5IIs to drop <$1k. It's $996 at Adorama with the $100 instant rebate and a $100 Gift Card for Adorama (like I'm not going to spend more there in the future ). I ordered it over the weekend and it arrived today.

I have played with it taking photos of my standard test chart - a wall of drawings by my children I've shot that wall with every camera, every lens, and every combo over the past couple years. With flash, without, etc. I KNOW that wall of drawings. I just shot it with the K-5IIs and WOW. No adjustment to the lens. No sharpening. Just point, wait for focus confirmation, and shoot. The images are staggeringly sharp. So sharp I feel like my eyes might bleed.

If this holds up with other lenses, outdoors in natural light, etc. this may well be the best camera purchase I have ever made. Brilliant is the best word I can think of right now to describe it. Absolutely brilliant.

05-08-2013, 06:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Enjoy it!

While I brood in jealousy.
05-08-2013, 06:16 PM   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Docrwm Quote
Excuse me if I think it ought to be sharp out of the camera.
You're excused!