Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-31-2013, 03:07 PM   #1

Selecting a New DSLR & Lenses

Greetings fellow forum members,

Hello,

I posted this message on the "Welcomes and Introductions" forum, but thought I'd place it here as well.

This is my first post. I'm a painter and have very specific needs that probably differ from most photographers. I use my camera to document landscapes, while on painting excursions, for reference purposes back in the studio. I also use it to photograph completed paintings for publication and use on the web. In the past, I've hired professional photographers to make 4"x 5" or 8" x 10" transparencies of my best paintings, which measure up to about 36" x 48". I never exhibit my photographs and, since acquiring a Canon S90 two years ago, no longer make prints for reference, preferring to use a computer monitor instead. Before I purchased the Canon point & shoot, I had been using a Nikon FM film camera, purchased new in 1980, along with a Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 manual focus F series lens.

I'm now fully committed to digital photography but am unhappy with the quality of the images captured with my S90. I would like to assemble a high quality digital camera system capable of capturing images that are as close as possible to my natural vision (hence the use of a high quality "normal" lens). Members of other forums have recommended a full frame Nikon or Canon DSLR and a 60mm macro lens for copy work. I'm wondering if the dynamic range of the Pentax K-5 II sensor would be adequate for the tasks I have described. Also, are there lenses in the Pentax line that would satisfy my needs? Any thoughts you have would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Nick

05-31-2013, 03:23 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery