Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-24-2013, 11:59 AM   #1
Inactive Account

your recommendations !! .... K-5 or K-50 ??

I am new to this forum, and I was wondering if you could provide me with some help " or a recommendation"

First of all, I am not aiming to be a professional, I am only a hobbyist, and I would like to buy a DSLR "for the first time" ........ I live in north Africa "specifically in Libya", which is extremely hot in the summer, and it could get a little bit dusty some days. So a weather sealing is an appealing feature, i cant spend more than 800-900 $ for now, and i like Pentax's cameras, they are well known for their durability, I shoot landscape, night camps, and sports "from time to time". At the beginning i was aiming for a K-5, and with a little digging on the internet, I found a lot of users complaining about the autofocus performance of the camera in low light "front focusing in tungsten light" ......... There are the K-30 & K-50, but I am not sure about these two cameras .... right now the K-5 is available on amazon for about 770 $ with a standard 18-55 mm kit lens. With the left money I can buy a tripod, an SD card and perhaps an extra battery, or i can just buy the the K-50/18-55mm/50-200mm bundle for about 880 $ ........ so what do you think ?? ......... what do you recommend and why ??

Thank you for your time .....

07-24-2013, 12:06 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
k-5. For the weathersealing if nothing else. It is a professional level camera with controls and features to match. If both were new and at their 'release' prices I would not suggest it because it would be abve your budget, but at current prices no question in my mind.