Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-01-2013, 06:21 PM   #1

K-5ii Flash recommendations

First, and this may be a painfully noobish question - I know there are some proprietary hot shoe mounts, but can I mount, say, a Metz 58 AF-1 for Nikon on my K-5ii? I ask because on Amazon, it is fully $120 more for a Metz Pentaz as it is for a Metz Nikon.

The more general question is - for my first flash, do you recommend going with a cheapo Yongnuo YN560II - type flash, or stepping up to a Metz / Pentax 540 / etc (or something in-between)?

As far as what I shoot, the short answer is anything and everything. I'm a second year medical student, so doing mostly photo therapy , which is heavy on urban, especially subway shots. I also have a 14-day old daughter, and I may or may not be shooting an embarrassingly high amount of pictures of her and my wife.

Lenses currently using - DA 18-135 WR, SMC Pentax 50mm 1.4, Sears 135mm 2.8, Vivitar 28mm 2.8 RL.

Thanks for the help

09-01-2013, 08:45 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by kjbds1 Quote
but can I mount, say, a Metz 58 AF-1 for Nikon on my K-5ii?
The short answer is 'yes' it will mount. However, it will only operate in full manual. So you can fire it at full power or you can manually set things on the flash and then fire it from the camera. If you are experienced with manual flash it is no big deal, if you are looking for a more automatic solution then this is not for you.

Each camera company uses a different communication protocol, for Pentax this is P-TTL and you need a flash that reads that in order to use it in anything but manual.
QuoteOriginally posted by kjbds1 Quote
cheapo Yongnuo YN560II - type flash, or stepping up to a Metz / Pentax 540