Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-27-2013, 01:39 AM   #1

Second thoughts....

Got my new K5-ii today (upgrade from K-r) and starting to have second thoughts. Took it for a test run this arvo (at the stupid time of sunset) and absolutely struggling to get decent photos.

The majority of the time I used the K-r on auto until the last few months when I started learning how to manually adjust aperture/shutter etc.

Bought the K5-ii as I wanted the weather proofing and chose it over the K-50/K-30 as I didn't want to feel the need to upgrade again in 12-18 months time.

Now I'm absolutely terrified that I've just spent $1600 on a camera that I can't get decent shots out of.

Is this learning curve struggle/second thoughts common with people when they upgrade to the higher end models?

09-27-2013, 01:47 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Yes it is a known problem in the first few days or weeks of shooting. Exactly how are your shots not right? The K-5II kills the K-r in basically everything, so it's more than likely that you're making one or several mistakes. For starters make sure the controls are customised to your liking (front and rear dial etc) and that you understand the focus and metering systems.
09-27-2013, 01:51 AM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Quazimoto Quote
Yes it is a known problem in the first few days or weeks of shooting. Exactly how are your shots not right? The K-5II kills the K-r in basically everything, so it's more than likely that you're making one or several mistakes. For starters make sure the controls are customised to your liking (front and rear dial etc) and that you understand the focus and metering systems.
Thanks for the quick reply!!

Was having a lot of exposure problems, but then was also shooting straight into the setting sun which I think was half the problem.

Perhaps need to do another test run in daylight hours and see if that improves anything.