Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-25-2013, 03:17 PM - 1 Like   #1

How rare are people like me?

For the first time today I tried another camera brand. I purchased a K100d in 2007. A few bodies later and many lenses, I now own two K5's. To make a long story short, I just finished my second year as a hired photographer for the Chicago Marathon. How cool is that...and with Pentax!!! Photography is still a hobby for me but has grown leaps and bounds in the last few years. I have no plan to quit my day job which I've been doing for 25 years. I'm self taught and started with film back in the 80's. My son is in college majoring in film and digital media. After playing with his new Canon 60d, I realized this is the first camera I've tried outside of my Pentax arsenal. I originally choose Pentax for the value and never looked back. I overcome any shortcomings by trying different things to get the shot. I think I've learned more about photography using the Pentax brand. One of my fellow photographers at the marathon was shooting with a Nikon D3s and 800e. I was so tempted to ask her to try it out. Whether I'm shooting high school football or portraits, the K5 is a perfectly capable camera. I love photography!!!
How rare am I?

10-25-2013, 03:46 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
LOL, I don't think you are that rare at all.
10-25-2013, 03:48 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Not rare. Just well done
10-25-2013, 03:51 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Petey44 Quote
I'm self taught and started with film back in the 80's.
For a short timer, you seem to be making pretty good progress. ;-)

Tim

10-25-2013, 04:02 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Enjoy the great photographs and success, and you can always upgrade to the K-3! Rare??? Not so much here, lots of company...
10-25-2013, 04:04 PM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums