Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-12-2013, 01:24 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Does this sound OK?

When I got my K-5II I thought the shutter was a bit loud compared to a K-5 I had handled (+ youtube videos), but since that was a whole year before I thought nothing more of it, especially since the camera worked great.
But I've just now been trolling around with the burst mode, and in the middle of a full burst (after something like 15 shots) the actuation sort of "slipped". Like there was 1,5 of a mirror actuation in the time frame of one. I'd like somebody to take a look at this video and tell me if the shutter activation seems loud, since that would mean sending in for repairs (not doing it just because of this one error).

You can adjust the volume according to the 'fart' the camera makes when turning on.

12-12-2013, 01:38 PM   #2
Inactive Account

I'm no musician, but it sounds a little too loud, at least to my ear.
12-12-2013, 01:56 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Shutter sound depends on the lens you have mounted, but it sounds pretty normal to me. What lens is on it?

Also, could what you describe as "slipping" be the buffer filling and the frame rate slowing down?
12-12-2013, 02:00 PM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The video sounds normal to me!

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
12-12-2013, 02:08 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
I had the 18-135 mounted, and it wasn't the buffer. I had it set at 2MP Premium, and the camera continued for a bit over 1 second after the error.