Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-13-2013, 08:04 PM   #1
Veteran Member

K-5ii low light exposure meter accuracy?

I was putting up the christmas tree earlier with the kids and decided to take a few photos... The light was pretty low and the exposure meter was saying the exposure was correct, however every shot I took was way under exposed. I mean this was not like "oh it's close to being correct" like these shots are all quite terrible. I tried different modes, I started in P and it was giving me too slow of a shutter speed so I tried SV to get the right shutter speed but the shots were still way under exposed (exposure meter showing it was good).

My question is, is the exposure meter usually pretty accurate on this camera and in low light? I just got my K-5ii for black friday so I am really new with it. I had a K-30 for a few months I don't recall having this much trouble at all in low light.

I am just being a nub and not knowing how to use this camera? Any help is greatly appreciated.

12-13-2013, 08:09 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
All those hot spots are probably fooling the light meter, but the shadows look like they could easily be recovered using the RAW file or even a jpeg.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
12-13-2013, 08:12 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Adam Quote
All those hot spots are probably fooling the light meter, but the shadows look like they could easily be recovered using the RAW file or even a jpeg.