Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-22-2013, 11:02 AM   #1

K-5 noise even with ISO 200 (was: K-5 IIs noise)

Hi,

I am new to DSLR photography, despite I am using a Canon Powershot G9 and G10 for family photography now for a long time. But my roots (when I had lots more time...) are Pentax K compatible analog cameras with manual and Auto Focus (2 manual focus No Names, 2 auto focus No Names) with some lenses from 28 mm to 500 mm fix lens and some zooms in between.

I am very happy with my K-5 which I bought as used camera some weeks ago. But when it comes to low light I see noise even with ISO 200 and a tripod.

On one day there was a party at a local company, which is selling swimming pools, where I made some outside photos of the building which was lighted in red and blue hands free. When coming home and checking the photos I was sad about some noisy pixels when there were soft areas between red and blue light. They were taken with ISO-640, which I do not find very problematic.

The day after I took my tripod with me. But even then I had problems with ISO-200. Is this normal with the K-5 or is specific to my individual item?

Regards,

Lutz

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
12-22-2013, 11:14 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hey, welcome.
I think the issue there is colour saturation and noise reduction. Actual noise looks different, whether its luminance or colour noise.
Another thing to consider is that ISO 200 is not 100% noise-free, and if you post process the photograph a lot, you can bring that noise out. For example, if you brighten the photograph digitally, there will be much more noise.