Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-26-2013, 01:11 AM   #1

Few questions about K 5 II

Hi all:

I'm new to Pentax system and I have purchased the K 5 II recently and just a few questions about the camera:

1. I heard the K 5 II has nigh ISO NR in RAW above ISO 3200, can this be turned off ( Does this feature makes the K 5 II a better performer than the Nikon D7000/7100 in turn of noise, or Pentax's tweak of the 16MP Sony sensor better than Nikon's) ?

2. I also heard it doesn't support UHS-I card, does this mean using Sandisk extreme and extreme pro cards are no different from using ultra cards?

3. Also does the picture style mode affect RAW output?

4. What are the some of recommended menu settings for K 5 II?

Thanks you guys so much and hope everyone had a good Christmas!

12-26-2013, 02:44 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

2. I believe this is correct.

3. No.

4. Very personal decision--you would get many opinions to this question. I shoot raw, and I like to make a minimum of decisions in the moment. So I stick with Av or TAv usually, no instant image review, status screen off, center AF point, etc.
12-26-2013, 03:00 PM   #3
Master of the obvious
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by ColiNiloK Quote
Hi all:

I'm new to Pentax system and I have purchased the K 5 II recently and just a few questions about the camera:

1. I heard the K 5 II has nigh ISO NR in RAW above ISO 3200, can this be turned off ( Does this feature makes the K 5 II a better performer than the Nikon D7000/7100 in turn of noise, or Pentax's tweak of the 16MP Sony sensor better than Nikon's) ?

2. I also heard it doesn't support UHS-I card, does this mean using Sandisk extreme and extreme pro cards are no different from using ultra cards?

3. Also does the picture style mode affect RAW output?

4. What are the some of recommended menu settings for K 5 II?

Thanks you guys so much and hope everyone had a good Christmas!