Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-01-2014, 07:46 AM - 3 Likes   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Gray's Rule: K-5 & bounced flash overexposure workaround

A little new year's present for everyone.

I'm an outdoor photographer, but have recently become interested in indoor flash photography. Besides the on-board flash of the K-5/K-5II, I have a AF-360FGZ and AF-540FGZ. I been playing and experimenting with all three flashes, mounted and wireless external flashes, with some forbearance from my friends and family.

Like many I have have bumped heads with the K-7/K-5/K-5II bounced flash P-TTL overexposure problem, and been extremely irritated by it and Pentax/Ricoh's public inability even to acknowledge the problem or suggest workarounds. Pentax insiders have hinted at a hardware problem with the K-7 & K-5 series being the cause - something which apparently is not fixable by a firmware update.

Anyway, I've done a fair amount of testing with different lenses using the 360 and 540 flashes and have come up with this rule of thumb:

In words
  • If you're using the wide angle diffuser panel, set total flash exposure compensation to -3.0
  • If the current focal length (zoom or prime) is less than about 28mm, or if your prime lens is fast (max. aperture = greater than f/2.4): dial the total flash exposure compensation (either on the camera and/or flash) to -2.0
  • Otherwise leave the flash exposure compensation on the camera (& flash) set to 0.0

or in shorthand:

Gray's Rule
  • a) if using wide angle diffuser : -3.0
  • b) else if f <= 28mm or fast prime* : -2.0
  • c) else : 0.0

*fast prime = max aperture larger than f/2.4 whatever the focal length

Caveats:
  • the rule is not perfect, but I have found it holds true for me in most situations with apertures f/8 and greater