Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-01-2014, 03:34 PM   #1

K3 vs Nikon D610

Hello all,

Hope you all are doing well. I had a question and I thought this place would be perfect to get an honest opinion. I have used Pentax K5 for almost 3 years and recently sold it (I still have two Pentax lenses), because I wanted to buy Nikon D610. I went and checked it, also took few shots, and did not really like a lot. It looks great on paper, but when I checked it in my hand, it was not really pleasing or WOW. Since I do not have my K5, I was thinking to go for K3 instead of Nikon D610. I mainly take my daughters pictures and landscapes. And I am also not a professional photographer. My question is do I go and buy a Nikon D610 with sigma 50 mm F1.4, (which will cost me $2600) or I should buy K3 and save some dollars. I also wanted to know how is general / overall picture quality for K3 vs D610.

Thanks for your time and consideration in advance,

Utkarsh

04-01-2014, 04:02 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I would be interested to hear what 2 Pentax lenses you have.

But if you didn't like the D610 I see little reason to go to it.

For what you shoot, I think the Fujifilm system would be better suited, if you're going to switch. They have some outstanding lenses, plus some very good low priced ones. And they have the best 18-55 on the market. It's not perfect, but it's pretty darn good, and it might be the only lens you want.

I think the newest body would be better (X-T1), but the older (recent) bodies can be found for good prices, including well priced lens bundles, so they're worth looking at.

But the K-3 and even the K-5 II/IIs are very good, so I think you'd like them too. My hunch is you'll be happy with either the Pentax or Fujifilm systems.
04-01-2014, 04:14 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by Utkarsh Quote
Hello all,