Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-22-2014, 07:32 AM   #1

upgrade from k-7, which way to go?

Hello, I'm new in the forum and I'm looking for advice. I'm currently using pentax k-7, I bought it used 3 years ago and it served me well. The only issues I have is the high noise levels and autofocus, so I wold like to upgrade the but I'm thorn between my options, k-5ii, k- 5iis or k-3?
What I have read about the k-3 is that it's a great camera but has some compromises on the DR and hight iso compared to the k-5ii and the k-5iis.
The k-5iis seems great camera, but I was wondering about the moire factor and how bad is it?
And finally the k-5ii? It seems that it has fallen out completely of the big dealers market.... looks the only few places where I found it was priced higher that the current k-5iis deals...
I mostly shoot landscapes,night and family. I'm by no means a pro... looking for advice so please share your thoughts thank you.

11-22-2014, 08:06 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Morning and Welcome to the Forum!!!!

I upgraded from the K20 three years ago, which had the same sensor as your K7. The K5 sensor is head and shoulders above the 14MP sensor. Pentax really has acquired a tremendous understanding of the 16MP Sony sensor - and has produced a lot of models with it.

The K5II as discontinued some time ago, however - I believe that the demand from the outset for the K5IIs surprised them. So, that is probably the main reason for the early demise of the K5II and the continuance of the K5IIs. Pentax models have the tendency of (price wise) coming out somewhat high, then dropping over time. At the point that they are discontinued, they drop in price - inventory reduction, and then their price tends to rise through the off market dealers, who hold a few new bodies, for folks that want just that model for what ever reason.