Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-14-2015, 10:43 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
A nice surprise from Pentax

Hello!

Got my Pentax K-5 back from repair here today, with a new and spotless sensor.

I bought my K-5 in February 2011 and noticed the splotches almost immediately but was too lazy to do anything about it whilst under warranty.

Dust specks on the K-5 @ f/22

I was then pleasantly surprised when I contacted the service center this August and asked them if they did repair it and they said that they did and even free of charge. Not bad for a 4½ year old camera!

The K-5 has long since been replaced by a K-3 in this household but perhaps I should treat it to a nice outing with the newly repaired DA*16-50/2.8.

09-14-2015, 12:47 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Good service! I am no legal expert, but I think If it is recognized as an inherent design or manufacturing flaw they might be required to do the repair beyond the 2 year warranty. It is still nice not to have to bitch about it.

Do you have a service center up there in Finland? They closed down the Danish one a few years ago, and I think we have to send our stuff to Sweden now.
09-14-2015, 01:23 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I can definitely tell you're not in the US....
09-14-2015, 09:45 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by H. Sapiens Quote
Good service! I am no legal expert, but I think If it is recognized as an inherent design or manufacturing flaw they might be required to do the repair beyond the 2 year warranty. It is still nice not to have to bitch about it.

Do you have a service center up there in Finland? They closed down the Danish one a few years ago, and I think we have to send our stuff to Sweden now.
They are required, but it's another story if they actually do anything, so good service yes.

I had to send it to Kameraservice in Sweden.

09-15-2015, 05:50 AM   #5