Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-11-2017, 05:10 AM   #1

Is the Pentax K5 still a good option ?

i got this deal from a friend that had a pentax k-5 for years now yet it has only 19k actuations on the shutter until this day.
so it got me thinking is the k5 still a good camera by todays standards, lenses are a a little concerne for me as they are a bit expensive on the pentax system and i dont see them being really well known arround the internet for their sharpness, but i am no expert in the pentax system, i am going to get the 18-250mm f/3.5-6.5 lens and an old 50mm f/2 lens included with the camera
I need your opinion on this matter, if i get this deal it will be my first pentax camera, and i ve been a canon shooter in the past, so should i go with this deal for 400$ with lenses included? or should i just save up for something better or maybe even go for a 700D or 600D ?
also articulating screen is a really important feature for me, but for the price i cant argue, but i would be really nice if the was a way or a work arround for this matter, like an accessory or an external screen that could be mounted on as an accessory

02-11-2017, 07:55 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Absolutely it is still a great camera! I recommend them to beginners all the time because they're built like tanks, they have a lot of useful features, and the image quality is still really good even by today's standards. My dad has one, and it still serves him really well.
02-11-2017, 08:02 AM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

Any DSLR and associated lenses can make for stunning photos today... There no bad choice. What would make the difference, really is the subject, lighting, composition and the photographer eyes. In other words: you.