Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-11-2019, 01:25 PM   #1

Zoom lens advice

Hello.
I'm looking for a tele zoom lens for my Pentax K5. I can not change this camera in the next future and I have just a lens kit is SMC Pentax-DA L 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL WR ( and other fixed manual lenses). The budget is around 350 USD
I watch for a 55-300mm lens and find these (around me):
SMC Pentax-DA 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED (used, around 160$)
HD Pentax-DA 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED WR (new in box with two years guarantee, 360$ and used aorund 290$)
HD PENTAX-DA 55-300mmF4.5-6.3ED PLM WR RE (new in box with two years guarantee, 460$) over the budget.
Which one could be a good choice? I'm not a professional, I just use the camera in vacancy, and occasionally.
Thank you.

06-11-2019, 01:34 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The PLM is not fully compatible with the K-5, scratch it off the list...

The DA, DA WR, and DA L versions are all optically the same. The DA L has a plastic mount and lacks quick shift. Obviously the WR has newer coatings and is WR but is that worth $130 extra to you?
06-11-2019, 01:50 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Do you want to take photos during snow or rain? If yes, get the WR version (not PLM). You'll need to decide on new or used based on your desire for warranty, and the reputation of the used seller.

If you don't plan to photograph in bad weather, the used DA version will perform identically to the WR version, for much less money.
06-11-2019, 01:52 PM   #4

Original Poster
Yes, I found DA-L lenses, cheap of course, no one new, under 100$, without hood, but I don't like them. I suppose a good choice will be the new one WR, somewhere around 360$. There is a difference of 70$ between new and used one...

---------- Post added 06-11-19 at 01:56 PM ----------

QuoteOriginally posted by DeadJohn Quote