Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
06-13-2019, 11:49 AM   #1

Blemishes on images

I've been using a K-5 body for a few years and have been very pleased with its performance. I was out doing some work a few days ago and noticed some round blemishes on my images. Attached are two shots #1 with 21mm lens and #2 with a 50mm lens. The problem areas look the same using both lenses. Do I have some damage or something on the sensor??

Thanks in advance.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
06-13-2019, 01:00 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That's simply a little dust on the sensor.

See here: Cleaning Your DSLR Sensor - Tutorial Videos | PentaxForums.com

You K-5 has a handy function where the camera can check where on the sensor the dust is located. I don't have my manual handy now, but will add that information later.
06-13-2019, 01:24 PM   #3
Pentaxian

If you're like me, the dust may have been on there for a while, but it took shooting a clear sky to be able to spot it. I had all sorts of stuff on my sensor by the time I first discovered it. Now, I just keep a blower in my camera bag and have made it a bit of my routine to give it a couple of quick shots from time to time while changing lenses. That has helped a bunch.
06-13-2019, 02:05 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Below is the internet address for a listing of the "Rocket" blower. I use it on my lenses, but have never had to use it on my sensor. It is definitely effective in getting particles off of my lenses and as was already mentioned a blower can be of help.

Giottos Rocket Blaster Dust-Removal Tool (Medium, Black) AA1910

06-13-2019, 04:12 PM   #5
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

If a blower doesn't work, there's also a sensor cleaning kit. I had to use this to clean the sensor on my K3.

https://www.adorama.com/ipxisck.html?
06-13-2019, 04:26 PM - 1 Like   #6

Original Poster