Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-24-2010, 04:09 PM   #1

Does my K-r have the autofocus problem?!

Hi, I'm a total noob and got a brand new K-r. After shooting a few hundred photos I recognised tha tnearly half of my pictures are not sharp, but actually this only occurs @ a certain focal length.
I took a test photo(f3.5, 18mm) and focused on an object about 2 metres away. the result was very bad. Only some objects in the foreground were sharp.
When I zoom in to 35mm or more or when I focus @ nearer objects like my hand 0.5m away this problem doesn't occur ...

I took all shots under average light conditions indoor, using the flash.

Beacause I'm I noob I don't know if thats the front focus problem some people post about in this forum. Sometimes the camera does focus strange, sometimes not....

Can you tell me more, please?

12-24-2010, 04:37 PM   #2

Original Poster
Here a test shot:
Attached Images

12-24-2010, 05:37 PM   #3
Veteran Member

What was the shutter speed for this shot?

How did you manage to get a red X in the dead center?
12-24-2010, 06:18 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Setting the camera for center point only (instead of 5/11) might help. With that it should focus on what is in the center ring of the viewfinder, otherwise it might choose one or more of the other 5/11 points. Also, consider including EXIF information with test shots, these contain the parameters used (such as shutter time, aperture, ISO, AF-mode etc.) and help making intelligent suggestions :-)

12-24-2010, 06:46 PM   #5

Original Poster
ok, i took this shot in auto mode, f3.5, iso 200, af.mode: 5/11, and I marked the camera's chosen focus point with a red rectangle(I'm sure this was the only focus point chosen)