Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-26-2010, 06:53 AM   #1
Forum Member

Unable to increase the shutter speed in Manual mode.

Hi Experts,
I'm new to SLR field and i've purchased a Pentax K-r recently. The problem waht I faced is, i'm not able to increase the shutter speed in Manual Mode(M).I tried to take few shots in poor lit condition with the built-in flash. But the maximum shutter speed is fixed to 180(I believe). Because of this, all my photographs become over exposed and when I turn off the flash, i've to reduce the speed and inturn a blurred image. I tried with both my manual and kit lens but the result is same. Can somebody help me on this issue.
Thanks a lot for your help,
Cheers,
Vass.

12-26-2010, 08:09 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You can not flash with speeds faster than 1/180 (the so-called X-sync).

You have to use your aperture to control the amount of light from the flash (see camera manaul how to calculate).
12-26-2010, 08:13 AM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The longer answer:

you can only use flash with shutter speeds slower than or equal to the X-sync speed. Reason is that the X-sync speed is the fastest speed at which both curtains of the shutter are fully open. If you use faster speeds, the shutter will already be closing when the flash fires resulting in an image that is partially underexposed / black.

HighSpeed Sync is a way to use faster shutter speeds with flash.

PS: this is not a K-r question.
12-26-2010, 01:52 PM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by sterretje Quote
The longer answer:

you can only use flash with shutter speeds slower than or equal to the X-sync speed. Reason is that the X-sync speed is the fastest speed at which both curtains of the shutter are fully open. If you use faster speeds, the shutter will already be closing when the flash fires resulting in an image that is partially underexposed / black.