Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-18-2011, 08:32 PM   #1

K-r lens

Hi,
I'm new to the dslr world. Just before Christmas I bought a K-r with the 18-55 lens. So far I'm quite pleased with the camera(a panasonic point and shoot being my previous camera) I'm possibly picking up a k mount f2 50mm lens. Any advice on initial settings on the camera for that particular lens? Any advice is welcome, thanks.

01-18-2011, 10:11 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Congrats and welcome! Which lens is it? If it doesn't have an "A" setting on the aperture ring, you'll need to enable the aperture ring setting. I can't tell you exactly how, as my K-r has not arrived yet.
01-18-2011, 10:43 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
To allow the use of the aperture ring and shoot with old manual lenses, set custom function 22 "Using Aperture Ring" to "Permitted". You will also need to assign the Green Button to "Optical Preview". Then set the camera to operate in Manual Exposure (M) mode. Select the desired aperture on the lens, then push and hold the Green Button. The lens will stop down to the set aperture (the viewfinder will darken, possibly by a lot if the f-stop number is high; this is normal) and the camera will meter the scene and indicate the difference from the correct exposure. Set exposure values as appropriate, use the Green Button to stop down and meter again and make any changes as needed, and shoot.

Hope this helps in using manual aperture lenses, if yours will be one of them. Limitations regarding the use of the aperture ring are detailed in page 314 (PDF page 316) of the K-r manual.

--DragonLord

Last edited by bwDraco; 01-18-2011 at 10:51 PM.
01-19-2011, 08:01 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by tg24 Quote
Hi,