Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-22-2011, 01:45 PM   #1

interaction with pentax support on K-r

My Pentax K-m was stolen over Christmas, with all my best lenses (FA35, Tamron 17-50, DA50-135).

Since then, have been trying to make the decision of how to get back in the game. Pentax makes the list again, as they are (still) a great value in my opinion.

As with other potential buyers, I have read the posts on the FF issue, though I'm not an expert on all of the information.

Here is a note I sent to the U.S. support team:

Hi, planning a dslr purchase, previous pentax customer (k2000/k-m). Am considering the k-r, but there is evidence on photography community sites of a front-focus issue under low light.
My questions:
1. is pentax aware of this issue?
2. do they plan to resolve it via firmware patch?
3. if so, when would the fix be available?

Here is the response I received:

Dear Mr. N,

Thank you for contacting Pentax.

PENTAX is aware that some people are posting on the internet that their K-R cameras are not accurately autofocusing in low tungsten light shooting conditions. However, very few people have sent their cameras in to us for examination. In fact, in most cases where we have examined sample images sent in demonstrating this issue we found the user was trying to shoot when the ambient light level was so low the autofocus could not function. To date PENTAX Japan has not informed us of any known issue in the K-R autofocus system that would require a firmware upgrade. If you were to purchase a K-R and experience an issue with the autofocus we would advise you to send the camera in to us to be examined by a technician.

If you are in need of further assistance, please respond to this email or call our technical support center at 800-877-0155.

Sincerely,

Randall S.
Pentax Imaging Technical Support