Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-25-2011, 04:44 PM   #1

K-r will be my first! But where??

Hello all, I am new here and am excited to join this forum!

After extensive research (my boss would probably not appreciate the amount of time I have spent doing this), I have decided to purchase the K-r as my first dSLR.
I was originally looking at the K-x and the comparable Canon and Nikon models, but it seems like the K-r is the way to go when you consider optical quality, price, functions, etc.
I am new to the dSLR world. The vast majority of my photos will be of kids, kids' sports, wildlife, scenery, etc. I am looking at the K-r kit that includes the DA L 55-300. From what I've read, this could be a good lens for me to start with.
I'm sure that this question has been asked and answered before on this forum, but I really need some good advise on which online retailer to go through. Needless to say, there are a ridiculous amount of "retailers" out there and it seems like you can interpret the reviews any way you want.
I am leaning towards B&H, however, they are a little more expensive than some of the others (Tri-state, Abe's) and I do need to be conscious of $$.
Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you and I can't wait to get this going!!

Chad

02-25-2011, 06:44 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Adomara and B&H are two good places to buy from and they will not call you and try to upsell you as some of those retailers with lower prices will.
02-25-2011, 07:02 PM   #3
Forum Member

Hi my name is chuck... I'm new but I plan to spend alot of time on this forum...

I am moving from a P&S camera to a DSLR and from all my research I have settled here... more specifically the Pentax K-R...

Chad... I am EXACTLY where you are now... I am watching all the online retailers for the last few days... here is what I found so far...

NW $756.19 Free shipping (on back order)