Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-07-2011, 12:59 PM   #1

Pentax kr,my story so far...

Hello to all ,fellow co-forumers,my name is Yannis and i am a 3d artist from Greece.This is my story with the pentax kr ,some thoughts,some questions and a proposal.The story starts about 3 months ago when i firstly ordered a pentax kx from a dodgy internet site.I was lucky enough (with a lot of pression) to get a full refund of my money in a short time (while others more unfortunates maybe they are still struggling.After with this incident which was quite upsetting and <<soul-devoring >> i found a very good deal(for the european prices) in amazon.fr so i thought its better to go with the updated model and leave the <<cursed>> one (kx) behind.I use the net for all my purchases the last 3 years without having any problem whatsoever.The pentax kr (white one) came with the 18-55mm lens and i fell in love with it almost instantely.My previous camera was a canon S2IS which proved to be very fast,precise and ergonomicaly an extention of my hand shooting exclusively in manual mode.It was a real partner to my travels and proved to be a very solid camera.I hope kr will sometime make me feel the same for it.But for now ...the major complain for the kr is the ff issue.I didnt know what ff meaned before or out of focus (except of the users fault of course) and the fact that my first photos taken with the kr were not so good ,leaded me to this forum.Its been more than a month that i read the threads and wait for the firmware update ( i lost the 30 day retourn garranty from amazon).In direct communication with Pentax Greece,France and UK via telephone i must admit that i somehow lost faith in an upcomming firmware update that it will completely eliminate the problem of focus.They either deny that there is one and say to shoot with tugsten wb or belive that its a camera specific and advise to sent it calibrated to the pentax services.My kr s