Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-08-2011, 11:02 AM   #1

Reconsidering

This is the week I finally make my forst dSLR purchase, and for several weeks my mind was set on the K-r.
I have to admit though, that there has been a lot of negative talk about this camera lately, especially the FF issue and this is making me really re-evaluate my choice.
Being a relative newbie, I honestly don't know how much this perceived issue will affect me. To be even more honest, I'm not sure I even know what "tungsten lighting" is.
The main reason for me upgrading to the dSLR is to take pictures of my kids and their outdoor sporting events, wildlife, and landscape. I'm sure that there will be several occassions where I will want to take impromptu pics in the house as well. I chose the K-r for it's features, IQ, ergonomics, and the fairly good reviews of the 300mm kit lens - all of this at a very good price point for me.
That said, I am asking for some impartial advise from the more seasoned users to see if the FF issue is really something that will disappoint me given my intended use. Should I really be looking elsewhere? This post is not intended re-hash all of the negativity. I am merely asking someone to explain to me the consequences (if any) in terms that a newbie can understand.

Thank you!

03-08-2011, 11:57 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Tungsten lighting is the everyday filament light bulbs that were commonly used until very recently.
They have/are being phased out for more energy efficient CFL and LED lighting.
The FF issue does exist and is most pronounced with fast (i.e. lens with a f-stop of 1.8 or lower) lenses.
I had to struggle to find a tungsten bulb as I replaced all of them in my house some time ago.
My personal experience involves only the kit lens (18-55mm) and I had to drop down to a 7.5 watt appliance bulb as the only lighting to ever see the FF issue.