Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-20-2011, 06:07 PM   #1

Just bought a KR - What else do I need?

I am new to the world of DSLR.

I just bought a KR 18-55 and 55-200 kit. Any suggestions on the first accesories I should get.

SD cards - which ones?
Battery holder - or stick with the included rechargealbe?
Bag - considering the lowepro fast pack 100
Any other suggestions would be great.

Thanks

03-20-2011, 06:50 PM   #2

Welcome to the world of DSLR (good choice, by the way. ) I bought the same kit.

SD cards- It depends on what you want your K-r to do for you. I'm guessing since you purchased one that a lot of the reasoning was because of its mid-range feature set. If you want to shoot HD video (even the 720p), and want to shoot in burst mode at 6fps.....then you probably want at least a Class 6 card or better. I just bought a Transcend 8 gig Class 10, but I think the Class 6 will do fine if you don't buy too cheap. The classes are supposed to mean a minimum of whatever number it is for write speed, but there are some arbitrary overlaps from the lower classes. A SanDisk Class 6 might be able to outperform a Class 10 by many companies, for example.

AA battery holder or lithium stick? - Why not both? That takes advantage of the strengths of each. I did purchase a backup lithium stick, but I also intend to buy the adapter for situations where I might lose a battery or run one down unwittingly.

Bags - Lowepro does make some nice products for a reasonable price. You might also look at the Tamrac Velocity series packs. They are built very solid. Ebay is your friend.