Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-21-2011, 02:42 PM   #1

vivitar flash with kr overexposing

hello, im kind of new with this whole flash thing but my thought was with TTL it would do all the work for me lol. i been using pentax 50mm flash is set on TTL seems to be working with cam good shows iso level and f stop but almost all my pics are over exposed even with the cam set at -3 stops what can i do?

03-21-2011, 03:12 PM   #2

Original Poster
just put kit lens on and at -3 photos are alot better then with the F50 1.7 hmmm??
03-21-2011, 03:47 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I haven't worked with an external flash, but if I had to guess, I think the kit lens has a lot higher aperture (f/3.5-5.6) than the F50. The F50 gathers a lot more light wide open, and the flash overexposes it. If I was going to try to combat that with my internal flash, I'd set the flash exposure comp to a lower value (like -1 to -2).

HTH.

Last edited by icywindow; 03-21-2011 at 03:50 PM. Reason: Revised wording for term
03-22-2011, 11:41 AM   #4

Quick question what model is the flash?

Its quite possible if its an older flash its incomparable with modern DSLR's.

I recently picked up a Kr, I picked it up because of the features and to go with my existing Pentax film SLR gear, including a Promaster 5500 flash.

When I put the flash on my Kr I was surprised at how poorly they were playing together.
The Promaster is a TTL flash and it worked really well with my ZX-10 but on the Kr it was blasting away at full power unless I manually set it to 1/16 power.

So off to the web I went, and learned that most of the older film flashes do not work properly with digital cameras, in fact many of them can damage the circuitry of the DSLR.