Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-02-2011, 07:49 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Sensitivity starting from ISO 200 why not 100?

I am wondering why the ISO setting starts with ISO 200 instead of ISO 100 which is normally seen with cameras (I am new to dslr).
Is there any specific reasons for this?

thanks in advance

04-02-2011, 07:55 AM   #2
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Yes because that is the native ISO of the sensor. Base ISO is that ISO at which the signal from the pixels is unboosted (so boost = 0dB) and the image of a properly exposed grey card meets certain criteria of noise and brightness. The more efficient a sensor is, the higher its base ISO will be. Also, at base ISO, the sensor will have the widest dynamic range possible (that's the theory, although I don't see it in DxO Mark DR vs ISO graphs). The higher the base ISO, the less you need to boost the pixel signals to reach higher ISOs. A boost of 3dB is (theoretically) equal to one stop, so to boost the K-5 4 stops above its base ISO, or 12dB, would take it to ISO 3200. If Sony develops a sensor with a 400 base ISO, boosting 12dB would take you to ISO 6400, but the image would look as good as the K-5's ISO 3200 (assuming equal image processing techniques).

With film, lower ISO meant finer grain, which provided greater resolution at the expense of longer exposure times. With digital sensors, maximum resolution is determined by the number of pixels combined with the characteristics of the AA filter and the quality of the demosaicing software. Colour saturation is determined by the number of photons captured and how efficiently they're "translated" into zeroes and ones, while colour fidelity is a combination of the RGB filters and the quality of the algorithms that demosaic and determine white balance.