Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
04-23-2011, 12:16 PM   #1

K-r Purchasing question

I posted an intro in the Intro forums, but I thought this would be a better place to ask my question.

I'm a complete newbie to photography and I'm looking to buy a dSLR. I've pretty much set my mind on the K-r (possibly the k-x if someone suggests that it's worth it). I want to get the best kit that I can for my money.

I'm in the 500-700 USD range and am interested in general purpose street/travel photography and nature shots. I might want to do some macro shots eventually. I've seen several variates on kits 55-200mm or the 55-300mm 2 lens kits or just the standard kit lens. What is everyones suggestion for the best kit for the cheapest money?

Thanks for any help!

04-23-2011, 12:34 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Best for your money right now is a K200d + kit lens for $400 plus tax, here:

Pentax K200D 10.2 MP Digital SLR Body with Pentax DA 18-55 Lens Kit for $399.99 - electronics, digital-camera, slr, moofi - Deals.Woot

There are some links in the discussion there comparing the k200 and the kx.
04-23-2011, 02:12 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteQuote:
Best for your money right now is a K200d + kit lens for $400 plus tax, here:

Pentax K200D 10.2 MP Digital SLR Body with Pentax DA 18-55 Lens Kit for $399.99 - electronics, digital-camera, slr, moofi - Deals.Woot

There are some links in the discussion there comparing the k200 and the kx.
What would be the advantage of doing this over buying a k-r kit? Would it just be a lower quality body for more money on glass? If so what glass do you recommend I get?
04-23-2011, 02:53 PM   #4

Photos: Albums